Dear reader,
You may have noticed that we’ve changed domains from Minestories to Solid Ground online, a name that more inclusively reflects our broad range of solutions for the mining and rock excavation industries. Rest assured, you’ll still be able to read and watch the ground-breaking content you’ve come to expect. Thanks for visiting.

以远见赢未来

美国沃尔哈拉镇。奥康尼县采石场是美国唯一家由政府所有的采石场。在引入一台新型多功能、双动力移动破碎设备后,该采石场的总产量增加了一倍以上,同时产品品质也得到提高。

每周有六天的早晨都会有几十辆自卸车,沿着一条名为“Rock Crusher Road”(意为破碎机之路)的道路,浩浩荡荡开往奥康尼县采石场。

这座县级采石场位于南卡罗来纳州西北部沃尔哈拉镇的郊区,靠近佐治亚州和北卡罗来纳州边界,生产南卡罗来纳州最著名的蓝色花岗岩。

采石场不仅需要满足县政府的需求,包括修路、排涝和护坡,还为600多名本地客户提供服务,其中既有公路工程承包商,也有只需少量砾石铺路的村民。

采石场副厂长Thom Moxley表示:“我们非常荣幸能够为当地政府和居民服务。”

最近几年,由于破碎设备日益陈旧,导致采石场逐渐难以满足各方的需求。这台固定式破碎设备已服役30年,即使开足马力每小时也只能加工270吨碎石,而且机器还经常出问题。意外停机对生产造成了影响。

“我们目前正在全力生产以满足需求,没有时间对设备开展预防性维护,而这是我们必须要做的。”Moxley说道。

2017年年初,Moxley、采石场员工和县政府官员开始讨论和调研替代方案,主要是比较固定式破碎设备和移动式破碎设备的优缺点。2017年,Moxley和采石场负责人Billy Buchanan前往瑞典考察一台双动力移动式破碎设备。六年前,Moxley和Buchanan相隔不到一周来到采石场工作。

“我看到了一种全新的方式:不是将石料送到设备处,而是让设备跟着石料走。”Buchanan说道:“这台设备的效率惊人。”

2018年2月,奥康尼县给采石场特批了750万美元,用于采石场改造升级。采石场员工建议购买移动式破碎设备,县政府开始了招标程序。

奥康尼县采石场

自1948年投入运营的奥康尼县采石场位于南卡罗来纳州西北部的乡村地区,占地40公顷。该采石场2019年出售了约48万吨石料,目前的开采许可年限到2050年,石料储量预计可开采至2100年左右。

采石场需要一台每小时成品产量至少为590吨的设备,每小时产量至少包括180吨一英寸大小的57号集料。

“产能要求虽然严格,但只有这样我们才能满足奥康尼县的需求,才值得投资。”Moxley说道。

采石场还要求设备能够生产其他几种产品,包括789号A级抛石和沥青砂。破碎机的功能必须满足南卡罗来纳州交通部对州级公路集料级配的要求,57号和789号集料还必须符合针片状颗粒的州级规范。

Moxley和采石场的员工对设备还有一个要求:能够在机载柴油发电机和电网供电之间灵活切换电源。

Moxley表示:“我们对双动力设备非常感兴趣,电网供电方式可以使我们的生产效率最大化。但是有时候电网供电的成本太高昂,如果设备具有双动力,我们就可以在用电高峰期间不使用电网供电,而通过柴油供电。电力驱动还具有噪音低的优点,综合多方面的考虑,我们认为双动力是最好的选择。”

最终山特维克赢得了奥康尼县议会的招标。这个中标方案包括五年质保、本地经销商的服务支持、定期的设备检修维护以及综合的操作人员培训。

“在整个招标过程中,我们始终觉得山特维克的技术是最先进的,其产品也非常坚固耐用。”Buchanan介绍说:“参与竞标的公司都给我们发了投标书,山特维克为我们提供了四套解决方案。在我们中意的那套方案中,甚至包含了我们没有提出要求的服务,而且解决方案还可以进一步扩展。采石场未来可能还要扩大产能,山特维克帮我们提前考虑了这样的发展。”

采石场最终决定购买移动式设备,主要是因为它能够使矿坑设计更加灵活。新设备可以四处移动,方便采石场尽可能靠近工作面进行破碎、分选、筛分和堆料作业。

“今后当我们需要进行采矿作业时,再也不会被固定设备捆住手脚。”Buchanan说道。

不是将石料送到设备处,而是让设备跟着石料走。

Moxley估计,这台设备最终还可以减少柴油的消耗支出。

“我们在采石场做好准备引入这台设备后,就能赶上生产进度、满足客户需求,还能减少卡车运输量和所需设备的数量。”Moxley说道:“如果有需要,我们只需将设备移动到需要进行生产的地方,而不需要重新安置设备或重新布置生产场地。”

这台新型柴油-电力双动力移动式设备的额定电压为480V,频率为60Hz,满足接入北美电网的要求。

该县对电力系统进行了升级,以提供配套电压,确保新型移动式设备正常工作。这套破碎设备已于2019年11月投入运行,配备了一台山特维克UJ640移动粗碎颚式破碎机、一台山特维克US550E中碎圆锥破碎机、一台山特维克UH550E细碎圆锥破碎机、两台山特维克QA441e双层筛分机和三台移动式堆料机。山特维克享誉业界的破碎技术是所有移动破碎机的核心所在。

Moxley表示:“这些机型都可以扩展升级,可与其他后来添加的部件和设备实现互联,山特维克设计制造团队考虑得可谓非常周全。山特维克确保让颚式破碎机不会成为我们的生产瓶颈,相反,在未来几年中,这台颚式破碎机将逐步提升我们的产能。我们希望产量达到每小时约590吨,这比我们现在的产量高出一倍多,而且我们估计这台破碎设备未来每小时的产量有望达到770吨。”

采石场的山特维克UJ640破碎机可选配一个18立方米的给料斗,以实现更快的装载并提供料堆,确保可连续向山特维克CJ615单肘板1,500×1,100毫米颚口供料,最大程度提高产量和效率。该机器还可选配一个山特维克破碎锤和工作臂,用于清除堵塞物和移除搭桥的岩石。

“破碎机的破碎腔很深,能容纳97厘米大小的单粒石料。”Moxley介绍说:“破碎机的设计旨在通过轨道系统吸收所有振动。由于尺寸加大,其作业强度减小,能轻松、有条不紊地完成作业任务。我们认为在实际使用中,这款破碎机应该可以使用更大的挖掘机为其进料,它的处理速度实在太快了。”

非露天采石情况下,从90米深矿坑挖掘的石料,经过颚式破碎机处理后被运往料堆,由一辆大型轮式铲运机将石料送入山特维克US550E破碎机。这台中碎破碎机的双联锁智能系统集成了山特维克智能排料口自动调整系统(ASRi),可自动优化处理过程,帮助预测需要维护的问题,使设备正常运行时间最大化。

<p>生产的石料多呈立方体状,这是延长道路使用寿命的重要因素。</p>

生产的石料多呈立方体状,这是延长道路使用寿命的重要因素。

“山特维克破碎设备自动化程度高,设置之后便基本不用再操心。”Buchanan表示:“我们非常信任ASRi系统的监测能力。我们的工作变得轻松。有了山特维克提供的技术,需要人工进行的工作已所剩无几。”

山特维克US550E破碎机负责向山特维克UH550E破碎机送料。这两台圆锥破碎机都配有一个箱体,让采石场可以制造成品。

“我们甚至连筛分机都用不上了。如今我们有能力生产更多种类的产品。”Moxley说道:“实际上,我们正在考虑是否应该扩大产品类别,增加目前没有生产的一、两种产品。”

采石场不仅对中碎和细碎破碎机的破碎比感到满意,负责监督其品控程序的Buchanan还表示,这台新型移动式破碎设备生产出来的石料形状更接近立方体,这对延长道路使用寿命非常重要。

“虽然实现产能目标很重要,但也要避免生产出不符合规范的针片状颗粒石料。”Buchanan说:“我们开展的多项研究显示,如果道路工程集料为针片状颗粒,路面损坏速度会大大加快。山特维克圆锥破碎机的料斗上有一个料位传感器,可避免出现人为错误。料位传感器确保料斗每次都能准确地向破碎机输送相同量的石料,这个特点可以确保石料之间相互碾压,让成品呈立方体状。这是老设备不可能实现的。”

新型圆锥破碎机可更有效地实现满供料,基本上解决了这个问题。

“老设备产生针片状颗粒石料的比例大概是14%。”Buchanan介绍说:“使用了山特维克的产品后,目前的比例在4%左右。这是很大的改进。”

在两台山特维克QA441e筛分机的背部安装了分离器溜槽,对细碎圆锥破碎机输送的石料进行分离,同时与获专利的双层筛分系统相互配合,采石场可以同时生产57号和789号集料。

奥康尼县采石场副厂长Thom Moxley。

奥康尼县采石场副厂长Thom Moxley。

三台24米长的移动式堆料机,每一台都可以堆料5,400吨。

“我们现在不需要频繁地将石料运来运去。”

Moxley说:“完全可以在生产现场直接出售。”

Moxley还表示,停用过时的固定式破碎设备两个月后,新型移动式破碎设备凭借前所未有的多功能性在采石场大显身手。

“我们现在可以集中精力生产产品,对于不同的石料我们会采用不同的处理流程以优化产出。”Moxley指出:“我们每天都有新的发现,现在有能力去完成以往无法做到的事情。现代科技的力量惊人。很幸运能获得这台新设备,让我们的产量增加了一倍以上。”

Buchanan也非常认同Moxley的观点:“我们希望通过科技来提升运营绩效,与山特维克的合作大有裨益。很高兴能与山特维克合作。这次合作自始至终都很愉快,相信我们的合作会不断持续下去。我们考察了多家公司,山特维克产品的品质最突出。我坚信在未来的几十年,双方的合作会更加成功。”

Dear reader,
You may have noticed that we’ve changed domains from Minestories to Solid Ground online, a name that more inclusively reflects our broad range of solutions for the mining and rock excavation industries. Rest assured, you’ll still be able to read and watch the ground-breaking content you’ve come to expect. Thanks for visiting.

A flexible future

WALHALLA, USA. A new dual powered mobile crushing plant has more than doubled aggregate production while improving product quality and creating unprecedented versatility for one of the only government-owned quarries in the USA.

Six mornings a week, dozens of dump trucks wind up the aptly named Rock Crusher Road to the Oconee County Quarry.

Located outside the town of Walhalla in north-western South Carolina, near the Georgia and North Carolina borders, the county-owned quarry produces blue granite, South Carolina’s state rock.

Not only does the quarry make aggregate for county government needs that include road building, storm drainage and slope protection, it also serves more than 600 local customers, who range from paving and grading contractors to rural residents who just need a little gravel for a driveway.

“We’re able to support local government needs as well as the needs of the local citizens,” says assistant manager Thom Moxley. “We’re very proud of that.”

An ageing crushing plant left the quarry struggling to satisfy demand in recent years. The 30-year-old stationary plant could only produce 270 tonnes of crushed stone per hour running at full capacity, and it often wasn’t running at all. Unscheduled downtime took a toll on production.

“We had got to the position where we were running our plant to try to meet production needs and not having enough time to do the preventive maintenance that we needed to do,” Moxley says.

Moxley, colleagues at the quarry and the county administrator began discussing and researching replacement options in early 2017, comparing both stationary and mobile plants. Moxley and crew leader Billy Buchanan, who started working at the quarry within a week of each other six years ago, traveled to Sweden to inspect a dual power mobile plant in 2017.

“It’s a real shift in the way of thinking; instead of taking the rock to the plant, you take the plant to the rock,” Buchanan says. “The efficiency of that plant was impressive.”

In February 2018, the Oconee County Council green-lighted 7.5 million US dollars in improvements to the quarry. Quarry staff recommended the purchase of a mobile crushing plant, and the county initiated a request for proposal (RFP) process.

Oconee County Quarry

In operation since 1948, the Oconee County Quarry sits on 40 hectares in rural north-western South Carolina. The quarry sold approximately 480,000 tonnes of stone in 2019 and is currently permitted through 2050, with rock reserves estimated to last until around 2100.

The quarry needed a plant that would produce at least 590 tonnes per hour of finished product, including at least 180 tonnes per hour of one-inch #57 aggregate.

“Those were the stringent requirements that we had to meet for Oconee County to feel like we could make this investment,” Moxley says.

The quarry also required the plant to be able to produce several other products, including #789, class A riprap and asphalt sand. The crusher run had to meet South Carolina Department of Transportation specifications for gradation in order to be used on state roads, and both the #57 and #789 also had to meet state specifications for flat or elongated particles.

Moxley and his colleagues were also intrigued by the flexibility of a plant that could enable the quarry to freely alternate power supply between onboard diesel generators and the main electric network.

“Dual power machines were very attractive to us because we can be most efficient if we are on the grid,” he says. “But certain times it’s costly to be on the grid, so we could manage the different operations using diesel over electric so that we can stay off the grid during peak times. The electric is quieter, so there’s a lot of things that helped us ultimately be able to justify the dual power system.”

The Oconee County Council awarded the RFP to Sandvik, whose solution included a five-year extended warranty, local dealer service support, scheduled equipment inspections and comprehensive operator training.

“We just felt through the whole process that Sandvik’s technology was on the cutting edge and they make a very durable, strong product,” Buchanan says. “All the companies in the RFP sent us offers of their solutions, and Sandvik actually sent us four options. The one we went for has provided some solutions that we never asked for, and the potential to grow. In the future the quarry might need more capacity. Sandvik was looking out for us.”

The quarry invested in a mobile plant primarily because it provides pit design flexibility. The

new plant can be relocated indefinitely, enabling the quarry to size, crush, screen and stockpile as close to the face as possible.

“We’re not ever going to be in a situation again that we have a stationary plant sitting on rock that we need to mine,” Buchanan says.

Instead of taking the rock to the plant, you take the plant to the rock

Moxley expects the plant to eventually reduce the operation’s diesel budget too.

“Ultimately, when we get our quarry in a position to accept the equipment that we have, we can accommodate the customers there and it’s going to decrease the amount of trucking and equipment necessary to give the customer what they need,” Moxley says. “When the time comes, we can just move our plant and we won’t have to redesign a plant or start all over again. We’ll just go to a different footprint.”

Sandvik engineered the new diesel-electric mobile plant to a 480 V voltage and 60 Hz frequency to work with North American mains electric power.

The county upgraded the electrical system to provide the required voltage to support the new mobile plant, which was commissioned in November 2019 and consists of a Sandvik UJ640 primary mobile jaw crusher, a Sandvik US550E secondary cone crusher, a Sandvik UH550E tertiary cone crusher, two Sandvik QA441e Doublescreens and three mobile stackers. All mobile crushers feature Sandvik’s renowned crushing technology at their core.

“Each of those models were considered for growth and to be able to network with other pieces that may come into the puzzle, or other models that may be added to our plant, so it was a very well thought through process that the whole Sandvik team worked on,” Moxley says. “Sandvik ensured that the jaw was not going to be the bottleneck in our operation. We can actually grow with the jaw over the coming years. We wanted about 590 tonnes an hour, which was going to more than double what we make now, and we feel like there’s 770 there in the future.”

The quarry’s Sandvik UJ640 features an optional 18-cubic-metre feeder hopper extension to enable faster loading and provide a surge pile to ensure a continuous feed to the Sandvik CJ615 single-toggle 1,500-by-1,100 millimetre jaw, maximizing throughput and efficiency. The unit is also fitted with an optional Sandvik breaker and boom for clearing blockages and removing bridged rock.

“It is a very deep jaw that can accommodate a larger 97-centimetre single-grain stone,” Moxley says. “The design of it has been in such a way that all of the vibration is absorbed through the track system. And with it being up-sized and not having to work as hard as a jaw would have to work, it just methodically does its work without very much effort. We feel like the jaw could actually have a larger excavator to feed it. It’s producing so quickly.”

Until the quarry opens its face, material from the jaw is trucked from the base of the 90-metre pit to a stockpile, where a large wheel loader feeds Sandvik US550E. The secondary crusher’s dual interlocking and intelligence system is integrated with Sandvik’s Automatic Setting Regulation (ASRi) control system to automate process optimization and help predict maintenance issues, maximizing uptime.

<p>The stone produced by the new mobile plant is more cubical, which is essential for road sustainability.</p>

The stone produced by the new mobile plant is more cubical, which is essential for road sustainability.

“The Sandvik plant is really something you can just set and forget,” Buchanan says. “We are confident in the ASRi system that it’s going to help us monitor. It’s made life easy. There’s very few manual tasks that we have to do anymore, and all that is available through technology Sandvik offers.”

Sandvik US550E feeds into Sandvik UH550E. Both cones feature a box that enables the quarry to make a final product.

“We don’t even have to push it forward to our screeners, so that gives us even that much more versatility,” Moxley says. “We’re actually thinking about possibly adding a product or two maybe that we don’t currently  produce.”

Not only have the reduction ratios of the secondary and tertiary cones impressed the quarry, but Buchanan, who oversees its quality control program, says the stone produced by the new mobile plant is measurably more cubical – an essential characteristic for road sustainability.

“We have to hit our production goals, but also equally as important it can’t be flat or elongated,” Buchanan says. “We have multiple studies that show that roads will deteriorate much, much quicker if they’re flat or elongated products. The feeder on the Sandvik cones has a level sensor. It takes out the possibility of human mistakes. The feeder is always going to provide the cone with the exact same amount of rock, the exact amount of rock it needs to make sure that it’s crushing rock on rock and getting a cubical product. With the old plant, it was simply impossible.”

The ability to choke-feed the new cones more efficiently has virtually eliminated the issue.

“Our flat and elongation rate on our old plant was roughly 14 percent,” Buchanan says. “With the Sandvik product so far, we’re around 4 percent. A massive improvement.”

A splitter chute mounted on the back of two Sandvik QA441e screens divides material from the tertiary cone and, in conjunction with the patented Doublescreen system, enables the quarry to produce #57 and #789 simultaneously.

Oconee County quarry assistant manager Thom Moxley.

Oconee County quarry assistant manager Thom Moxley.

Each of the three 24-metre mobile stackers ultimately creates a 5,400-tonne stockpile.

“That reduces the need to move the product,” Moxley says. “We can actually sell directly from there.”

Two months after decommissioning the obsolete stationary plant, Moxley says the new mobile plant is providing unprecedented versatility for the quarry.

“We can concentrate on products and we can push materials in a different direction to optimize the output for the production that we need,” Moxley says. “We find new things daily that we’re capable of doing that we didn’t have the ability to do in the past. Modern technology is amazing. We’re very fortunate now to have a new plant that can more than double the production that we were making.”

Buchanan echoes Moxley’s sentiments.

“We were looking to better ourselves through technology and I think that’s what we have with Sandvik,” Buchanan says. “I’ve been very pleased with Sandvik. It was fantastic from the start and I’m very confident with our relationship going forward. We looked at several companies and Sandvik had the best products. Plus, I’m very confident that we have a partner that is going to take us for the next several decades.”