Dear reader,
You may have noticed that we’ve changed domains from Minestories to Solid Ground online, a name that more inclusively reflects our broad range of solutions for the mining and rock excavation industries. Rest assured, you’ll still be able to read and watch the ground-breaking content you’ve come to expect. Thanks for visiting.

生产效率大飞跃

山特维克即将推出多款用于隧道挖掘和矿山开采的新凿岩钻具产品。凭借更高的钻孔速度和更好的孔直度,新钻头、钻具系统和硬质合金等级提高了钻孔作业的生产效率,此外钻具寿命延长,从而可节省成本,同时安全性也更高。

除气动、液压、发动机等主要部件外,凿岩钻具和钻具材料也是影响钻机性能和生产效率的重要因素。从硬质合金粉末原材料一直到成品钻头,山特维克独立制造用于凿岩钻具的硬质合金钻头,这一直是山特维克与众不同之处。现在公司正在推出新型凿岩钻具。

“我们想切实提升用于顶锤应用场合的凿岩钻具的性能。”山特维克矿山和岩石技术地下应用顶锤钻具产品经理Robert Grandin说,“通常,球面和半弹道形状钻齿在实际生产效率方面没有多大的差别 —— 最多不超过5%,而有了新合金等级的钻头,我们便能获得更高的生产效率。”

Grandin所述的生产效率飞跃由三个部分组成:两个创新的硬质合金钻齿等级、新的快速钻头设计以及大获成功的Alpha螺纹概念的延伸产品。

POWER CARBIDE

新的硬质合金等级 —— GC80梯度等级和自硬化SH70,与山特维克的其他高端和最强大的硬质合金等级统称为PowerCarbide。

采用常规的“直线”硬质合金等级,例如山特维克XT48,整个钻头具有相同的硬度和韧性值,因此钻头的整个横截面具有线性性能。相比之下,新的梯度等级GC80具有坚硬、耐磨的尖端和坚韧的内核,因此它在二氧化硅(SiO2)含量高的磨蚀性岩石条件下能表现出非凡的耐磨性。在非磨蚀性岩石条件下,在耐磨性方面体现出的改善则较小或没有改善。

由于钻齿表面的加工硬化效果,自硬化SH70等级最重要的特性是具备很好的抗钻齿断裂性能。即使钻齿磨损,这一特性也能维持高耐磨性和耐破损性。硬化效果在硬岩条件下(即当钻凿过程中产生高MPa值时)最为显著,而在松软或破碎岩石条件下几乎没有改善。

GC80和SH70为不同的岩石条件提供相辅相成的解决方案:梯度等级在二氧化硅含量高的磨蚀性岩石条件下表现出色,而自硬化SH70则提高了在硬岩条件下的性能。现场测试表明,与传统的直线硬质合金等级相比,梯度等级的钻进距离最高可增加30%。

钻具寿命延长带来的一个显而易见的好处便是每米成本降低。这也减少了更换钻头的时间,带来重大的安全性优势。此外,由于修磨间隔比标准硬质合金延长了20-30%,从而有效地降低了钻具库存。

SPEEDY钻头

山特维克新推出的第二个主要凿岩钻具是Speedy钻头。它是一种新的顶锤钻头,具有已获专利的前部加高几何形状和更锋利的全弹道形状钻齿,每次冲击更加深入岩石。“全弹道”意味着钻齿更尖,截割更深入,以形成更大的裂缝和岩渣。简而言之,全弹道钻齿将更大的冲击能量传递到岩石中,使得每千瓦钻进功率可破碎更多的岩石。

为了配合更锋利的钻齿形状,并提高对岩石的冲击力,新钻齿采用更高等级硬质合金。生产过程中采用了一种改进的工艺,全新的后处理技术使得钻齿不易破裂。

Speedy钻头的前部加高,也就是说三个中心钻齿高于边齿。最初,只有加高的中心钻齿与岩石表面接触,其作用有点类似于金属切削中的导向钻:加高的钻头首先钻出较小的导向孔,随后边齿将孔扩大。这种设计实现了极高的钻孔速度,与传统钻头相比,性能提高了10%,并且使用寿命延长。即使钻头磨损,钻进速度也保持在高水平。对于以钻进速度作为更换标准的应用场合而言,Speedy钻头是理想选择。

Speedy钻头钻进速度的提高也得益于更高效排渣的设计。专利设计的排渣孔,即使是大块岩渣也可有效排出,而且钻头前部排渣量最大。较大、较深、较宽的排渣槽增加了排渣量,有助于排出更大块的岩渣,以适应更强劲的截割作业的需要,避免了再次截割时浪费能源。

“我们在掘进台车上进行了测试,使用Speedy钻头可为每个工作面节省15分钟的钻孔时间。”Grandin说道,“在一般情况下,钻机每天钻四个工作面,就可以节省60分钟的时间。考虑到掘进台车每小时的成本,每台钻机每天可以节省数百美元,每年可节省10万美元以上。”

ALPHA 360

山特维克还推出了已获专利的全新Alpha 330钻具系统的更大尺寸升级版。由于钻进速度和钻孔精度提高,而且钻头拆卸更简便,Alpha 330在43毫米和45毫米采矿应用中一直占有主导地位。随着更大、更深的孔变得越来越普遍,山特维克顺势推出更大尺寸的全新Alpha 360钻具系统。

作为Alpha系统的关键特征,这些钻头中较短的耦合螺纹将薄弱的螺纹部分重新定位到钻头裙边。得益于杠杆力减小、防磨损保护增强以及抗弯曲性能提高,施加在螺纹上的弯曲应力得到大幅降低。短螺纹也使得钻头更容易拆卸。

Alpha 360也具有上述优势,并且针对48毫米和51毫米的孔径进行了优化,使其成为了这一孔径范围的独特新解决方案。由于弯曲应力降低,新的解决方案使钻杆的使用寿命延长了高达一倍。开孔精确度高,成孔更直,提高了钻孔质量。此外,能够快速、简便地拆卸钻头也是一项优势。

“我们在北欧的一个大型基础设施项目中首次使用Alpha 360。”Grandin说,“使用以前的钻具时,钻杆的平均使用寿命介于2,800和3,000米之间,而现在我们甚至可以达到6,000米。钻机操作员再也不想使用其他钻具也就不足为奇了。”

优势

  • PowerCarbide GC80和SH70:创新型钻齿等级 —— 山特维克性能最强的硬质合金等级PowerCarbide家族的一员 —— 在磨蚀性岩石和硬岩条件下具有更好的耐磨性
  • Speedy钻头:钻齿更锋利,钻头前部加高,大大提升了钻进速度
  • Alpha 360:针对48毫米和51毫米钻孔优化的更强劲的新钻具系统,具有更长的使用寿命、更高的生产效率和更佳的成孔质量

Dear reader,
You may have noticed that we’ve changed domains from Minestories to Solid Ground online, a name that more inclusively reflects our broad range of solutions for the mining and rock excavation industries. Rest assured, you’ll still be able to read and watch the ground-breaking content you’ve come to expect. Thanks for visiting.

<p>New bits, carbide grades and tool systems by Sandvik Mining and Rock Technology offer cost savings through longer tool life. </p>
Show captionHide caption

New bits, carbide grades and tool systems by Sandvik Mining and Rock Technology offer cost savings through longer tool life. 

Productivity leap

Sandvik has significant new rock tool product launches in the pipeline for tunnelling and mine development applications. The new bits, tool systems and carbide grades boost the productivity of drilling operations through higher drill speeds and better hole straightness, offering cost savings through longer tool life and improved safety.

Rock tools and tool materials represent one important ingredient in the performance and productivity of a drill rig, in addition to pneumatics, hydraulics, engine and other main components. Sandvik’s in-house production of the cemented carbide bits for rock tools, all the way from carbide powderraw material to finished drill bits, has long been a differentiator. Now the company is introducing new rock tools.

“We wanted to make a real difference in the performance of rock tools in top hammer applications,” says Robert Grandin, product manager, top hammer tools – underground applications, with Sandvik Mining and Rock Technology. “Conventionally, there wasn’t that much difference between spherical and semi-ballistic buttons in terms of real productivity – no more than 5 percent or so. With our new grades and bits, we can achieve quite a lot more.”

The productivity leap described by Grandin consists of three components: two innovative carbide button grades, a new fast bit design and an extension of the successful Alpha thread concept.

POWER CARBIDE

The new carbide grades, referred to jointly as PowerCarbide – along with Sandvik’s other premium and most powerful carbide grades – are the GC80 gradient grade and the self-hardening SH70.

Conventional, so-called straight carbide grades, such as Sandvik XT48, show the same hardness and toughness values throughout the entire bit. This results in linear performance over the entire cross-section of the bit. The new gradient grade GC80 has instead a hard, wear-resistant tip and a tough core, and thanks to this it has exceptional wear resistance in abrasive rock conditions with high silica (SiO2) content. In non-abrasive rock conditions, the improvement is smaller or nonexistent.

The self-hardening SH70 grade is above all highly resistant to button breakages, thanks to a work hardening effect in the surface of the button. This characteristic also maintains the resistance to high wear and breakage even as the button wears down. The hardening effect is greatest in hard and competent ground – in other words, when high MPa values are generated during drilling. There is little or no improvement in soft or fractured rock.

Together, GC80 and SH70 offer mutually complementing solutions for different rockconditions: the gradient grade excels in abrasive rock with high silica content, while the self-hardening SH70 improves performance in hard rock. Field tests indicate that performance, in terms of drilled metres, can be improved by up to 30 percent compared with a conventional straight carbide grade.

A very tangible benefit is the direct reduction in cost per metre, thanks to a longer tool life. This also cuts the time spent changing bits, a major safety benefit. There are also benefits in the tool room, as grinding intervals are 20 to 30 percent longer compared with standard carbides.

SPEEDY BIT

The second major rock tool launch is the Speedy bit: a new top hammer bit with a patented elevated front geometry and substantially more aggressive, fully ballistic buttons for deeper penetration per blow. “Fully ballistic” means more pointy buttons to cut deeper and to produce bigger cracks and chips. In simplified terms, fully ballistic buttons put more energy into the rock, resulting in more rock crushed per kilowatt of drill output.

To balance out the more aggressive button shape and to enable greater energy expenditure into the rock, the new buttons have an updated carbide grade. The enabling technology here is an improved manufacturing process with a new aftertreatment that makes the buttons more resilient to breakage.

The elevated front of the Speedy bit means that the three centre buttons are raised above the perimeter buttons. Initially, only the elevated centre buttons make contact with the rock face, resulting in action somewhat similar to a pilot drill in metal cutting: the raised bits first produce a smaller pilot hole, which is subsequently enlarged by the perimeter buttons. This results in an extremely fast bit, capable of a 10 percent improvement in performance and longer tool life compared with conventional bits. The penetration rate also remains high even as the bit wears down, which makes the Speedy bit a great option for applications with a specific penetration rate as the discard criterion.

The higher penetration rates of the Speedy bit are also a result of another design feature: more efficient flushing. The patented design includes large sludge grooves to effectively flush even big cuttings and to provide maximum flushing flow at the front of the bit. The large, deep and wide flushing grooves increase the flow and help to carry away the larger volume of cuttings to balance out the more aggressive cutting action and avoid wasting energy in recutting.

“We have seen in trials on mining jumbos that it’s possible to save 15 minutes in drilling time for each face with the Speedy bit,” Grandin says. “So, if the rig drills four faces per day, which is fairly typical, this can save 60 minutes each day. Taking into account the typical hourly cost for a mining jumbo, this easily amounts to hundreds of dollars per day in savings for each rig. On an annual level, that can mean more than 100,000 dollars per rig.”

ALPHA 360

Sandvik is also launching a new, larger version of the patented Alpha 330 tool system that since 2004 has dominated 43- and 45-millimetre mining applications with higher penetration rates, more accurate drilling and improved uncoupling of bits. Larger, longer holes are becoming more and more common, and Sandvik responds to this with the new larger Alpha 360 tool system.

The shorter coupling thread in these bits, a key feature of the Alpha system, relocates the sensitive thread section into the bit skirt. Thanks to lower leverage forces, better protection from wear and tear and decreased vulnerability to bending, this substantially decreases the bending stresses exerted on the thread. The shorter thread also makes the bit easier to uncouple.

While the above benefits are the same for Alpha 360, the new “big brother” is optimized for 48- and 51-millimetre hole sizes. This makes it a unique new concept for this hole size range. The new solution offers up to 100 percent longer service life for rods thanks to reduced bending stresses. The exact collaring and better straightness result in better hole quality. Fast and easy uncoupling action is an additional benefit.

“We have some initial experience with Alpha 360 from a major infrastructure project in Scandinavia,” Grandin says. “While the average service life of drifter rods was between 2,800 and 3,000 metres with the previous drill tools, we could now achieve even up to 6,000 metres. Perhaps not surprisingly, the rig operators don’t want to use anything else anymore.”

BENEFITS

  • PowerCarbide GC80 and SH70: new innovative button grades – part of the bigger PowerCarbide family of Sandvik’s most powerful carbide grades – for better wear resistance in abrasive rock conditions and in hard rock
  • Speedy bit: more aggressive bit design with an elevated front for substantially higher penetration rates
  • Alpha 360: a stronger new tool system in 48- and 51-millimetre holes for improved service life, higher productivity and better hole quality.