Dear reader,
You may have noticed that we’ve changed domains from Minestories to Solid Ground online, a name that more inclusively reflects our broad range of solutions for the mining and rock excavation industries. Rest assured, you’ll still be able to read and watch the ground-breaking content you’ve come to expect. Thanks for visiting.

Курс на безвзрывную добычу соли

ХАЙЛЬБРОНН, ГЕРМАНИЯ. В течение 120 лет на одном из крупнейших соляных рудников Западной Европы практиковалась добыча соли с применением буровзрывных работ. Теперь здесь отдают предпочтение непрерывной выемке. Переход к безвзрывному методу работы на руднике, расположенном под городской территорией, позволил продлить срок его службы на много лет.

Синий копер шахты Франкен высится над наземными сооружениями Хайльброннского соляного рудника компании Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG. Эта промышленная зона находится всего в трех километрах к северу от центра Хайльбронна, города с населением 125 000 человек в 50 км к северу от Штутгарта.

Рудник в Хайльбронне — одно из первых в Европе соледобывающих предприятий. Впервые буры вонзились в каменную соль на этом месторождении еще в 1881 году. Добыча началась 4 декабря 1885 года, в день святой Варвары, который отмечают шахтеры всего мира. С тех пор предприятие остается ключевым производителем каменной и выварочной соли для корпоративных заказчиков, промышленности и фармацевтической отрасли, зимнего обслуживания дорог, а также для применения в быту.

Рудник способен добыть и поднять на поверхность более 4,5 млн тонн неочищенной соли в год. По словам Давида Зааге, руководителя отдела добычи каменной соли, нестабильность рынка, связанная с изменчивыми метеоусловиями, представляет определенные трудности.

«В зимний период мы сильно зависим от метеоусловий, — говорит он. — Если зима теплая и бесснежная, продажи падают. Если выпал снег, то спрос на рынке растет, а поддерживать непрерывный процесс в таких нестабильных условиях очень сложно. В снежные зимы у нас возрастают продажи антиобледенительной соли, для производства которой требуется разнообразный и адаптируемый парк оборудования».

В течение 120 лет месторождение соли в Хайльбронне разрабатывалось исключительно с помощью обычных буровзрывных методов. Туннели Хайльброннского рудника насчитывают многие сотни километров и зачастую проходят непосредственно под жилыми районами города. В 2005 году руководство рудника решило использовать вместо буровзрывных работ более тихие и безопасные методы добычи.

Предпочтение было отдано механизированной выемке. Первый комбайн непрерывного действия Sandvik MB770 начал работу в мае 2006 года. Характеристики машины при добыче угля были хорошо известны, но для работ на соляном руднике она ранее не использовалась. Внедрение непрерывной выемки потребовало изменений в транспортной системе и инфраструктуре рудника.

Второй комбайн Sandvik MB770 был введен в эксплуатацию на руднике в декабре 2008 года, третий — в 2011 году.

Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG

Основанная в 1883 году компания Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG — один из главных европейских производителей соли. Компания занимается производством каменной и выварочной соли для корпоративных заказчиков, промышленности и фармацевтической отрасли, зимнего обслуживания дорог и домашних хозяйств, в том числе под знаменитой немецкой маркой Bad Reichenhaller. На четырех объектах Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG в Баден-Вюртемберге и Баварии работает примерно 1000 сотрудников. Городу Хайльбронну и земле Баден-Вюртемберг принадлежат по 49 процентов акций компании. Оставшиеся 2 процента находятся в свободном обращении.

Непрерывная выемка не только устранила простои на время удаления газа, но и свела к минимуму необходимость дробления извлеченной каменной соли. Каждый комбайн непрерывного действия способен осуществлять выемку более 100 000 тонн в месяц.

Работники рудника в Хайльбронне уверены, что три комбайна Sandvik MB770 не подведут при добыче каменной соли. Комбайн двигается к очистному забою, а самосвал Sandvik TH540 задним ходом заезжает в расчетную точку под конвейерной системой комбайна. Комбайн загружает самосвал, который доставляет соль к питающему транспортеру.

Марвин Трауб, более семи лет проработавший оператором комбайнов непрерывного действия на руднике в Хайльбронне, высоко ценит режим автоматической выемки Sandvik MB770.

«Выемку вручную приходится производить крайне редко, — рассказывает он. — Машина всегда режет один метр. И всегда проходит один метр вперед. Мы настроили ее на три вруба, то есть машина проходит 33 сантиметра за один вруб. Затем нужно переместить машину на метр вперед, включить автоматический режим, и цикл начинается сначала».

Иногда Трауб также водит Sandvik TH540. Он явно выделяет его из имеющихся на руднике 30-тонных самосвалов.

<p>Давид Зааге, руководитель отдела добычи каменной соли на руднике компании Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG в Хайльбронне.</p>

Давид Зааге, руководитель отдела добычи каменной соли на руднике компании Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG в Хайльбронне.

<p>Sandvik TH540.</p>

Sandvik TH540.

<p>Марвин Трауб, более семи лет проработавший оператором комбайнов непрерывного действия на руднике в Хайльбронне.</p>

Марвин Трауб, более семи лет проработавший оператором комбайнов непрерывного действия на руднике в Хайльбронне.

«Этой машиной можно управлять, сидя по ходу движения, — говорит он. — При управлении другими самосвалами нужно сидеть боком, как и в случае с подземными погрузчиками. А здесь при движении я сижу лицом вперед. Камерой и зеркалами пользуюсь только при заднем ходе. Sandvik TH540 — великолепное дополнение к Sandvik MB770».

На руднике в Хайльбронне все еще работают три из четырех комбайнов непрерывного действия Sandvik, а недавно был приобретен пятый. Первый Sandvik MB770, работавший на руднике, теперь выставлен в музее в Бад-Фридрихсхалле. С мая 2006 по март 2016 года машина осуществила выемку примерно 8 миллионов тонн каменной соли и преодолела более 110 000 метров.

В некоторых частях рудника в Хайльбронне, расположенных вне жилых районов, все еще применяются буровзрывные работы, так как нужно справляться с сезонным пиковым спросом на соль. Для этого высверливаются взрывные скважины глубиной семь метров. Каждый взрыв дает более 1000 тонн каменной соли. Погрузчики Sandvik транспортируют полученную при взрыве массу в дробилку, которая измельчает продукт для последующей транспортировки на конвейере.

В Хайльбронне работают четыре погрузчика Sandvik LH621, один Sandvik LH517, один Sandvik LH514 и один Sandvik LH307.

«Самые важные критерии при выборе поставщиков — готовность машин к работе, эргономика и длительный срок службы, — говорит Зааге, который уже 10 лет работает на руднике в Хайльбронне. — Готовность машин к работе имеет высший приоритет. Неработающее оборудование — это непозволительная роскошь. Оборудование Sandvik, занятое на работах в Хайльбронне, доказало свою надежность».

Sandvik MB770

Sandvik MB770 предназначен для выполнения различных задач в области непрерывной выемки в неугольных безгазовых шахтах с высотой выработок до 5,3 м. Надежный комбайн непрерывного действия с широким рабочим органом отличается специальными конструктивными особенностями для резания породы, погрузки и вентиляции забоя и обладает высокой скоростью проходки. Режущая головка с низкой скоростью вращения генерирует меньше пыли и вибрации. Автоматический программируемый цикл гарантирует точную резку, а система визуализации и регистрации данных дополнительно оптимизирует работу.

Dear reader,
You may have noticed that we’ve changed domains from Minestories to Solid Ground online, a name that more inclusively reflects our broad range of solutions for the mining and rock excavation industries. Rest assured, you’ll still be able to read and watch the ground-breaking content you’ve come to expect. Thanks for visiting.

Salt shift

HEILBRONN, GERMANY. After 120 years of drill-and-blast extraction, one of Western Europe’s largest salt mines transitioned to continuous mining. The shift to a quieter method under urban areas has extended mine life by many years.

The Franken shaft’s blue headframe rises high above the surface facilities at Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG’s Heilbronn salt mine. The industrial area is just three kilometres north of the center of Heilbronn, a city of 125,000 people about 50 kilometres north of Stuttgart.

The Heilbronn mine is one of Europe’s first industrial salt operations. Drills struck the first rock salt in 1881. Mining began on December 4, 1885 – the St. Barbara’s Day holiday celebrated by miners in countries around the world – and the operation has been a key producer of rock salt and evaporated salt for business, industrial and pharmaceutical customers, winter road maintenance and household use ever since.

The mine can extract and hoist more than 4.5 million tonnes of raw salt each year. David Saage, department head of the rock salt unit, says weather-driven market volatility poses a challenge.

“We are dependent on winter business,” he says. “In a green winter, when there is no snow, the sales go down. When the snow comes, market demand increases and to maintain a continuous process with so much volatility is a challenge. When we get a white winter, we have higher volumes of de-icing salts, where we need a certain amount of flexibility in the equipment fleet.”

For 120 years, Heilbronn’s salt deposit was extracted exclusively using conventional drill and blast methods. Many of the hundreds of kilometres of tunnels comprising the Heilbronn mine today run directly beneath the city’s residential areas. In 2005, the mine looked to move away from drill and blast to a quieter mining method.

Heilbronn decided to implement mechanical cutting, introducing its first Sandvik MB770 continuous miner in May 2006. The machine’s performance was proven in coal but it had never been used in a salt mine. The introduction of continuous mining also required adjustments to the mine’s haulage and infrastructure.

The mine commissioned a second Sandvik MB770 in December 2008 and a third in 2011.

Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG

Founded in 1883, Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG is one of Europe’s key salt producers. The company produces rock salt and evaporated salt for business, industrial and pharmaceutical customers, winter road maintenance and household use, including Germany’s famous Bad Reichenhaller brand. Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG employs around 1,000 people across four locations in Baden-Württemberg and Bavaria. The city of Heilbronn and the state of Baden-Württemberg each own a 49 percent stake in the company while the remaining 2 percent is free float.

Not only has continuous mining eliminated the downtime previously required for blast gas clearance, it has also minimized the need for crushing the extracted rock salt. Each continuous miner can excavate more than 100,000 tonnes per month.

Heilbronn relies on three Sandvik MB770s to cut away rock salt. A continuous miner trams to the working face and a Sandvik TH540 ejector truck reverses into position under the continuous miner’s conveyor system. The continuous miner fills the truck, which hauls the salt to the feed conveyor.

Operator Marvin Traub, who has run continuous miners at Heilbronn for seven years, appreciates the automatic cutting sequence of Sandvik MB770.

“You only occasionally have to cut by hand,” he says. “The machine always cuts one metre. And the machine always drives a metre forward. We’ve set it to three cuts, so that the machine does 33 centimetres per cut. After one metre, you tram it forward one metre, and then you put the automatic mode on and it starts from the beginning again.”

Traub also drives the Sandvik TH540 from time to time, and favors it over the mine’s 30-tonne trucks.

<p>David Saage, department head of the rock salt unit at Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG’s Heilbronn mine.</p>

David Saage, department head of the rock salt unit at Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG’s Heilbronn mine.

<p>A Sandvik TH540 ejector truck prepares to dump salt onto Heilbronn’s feed conveyor.</p>

A Sandvik TH540 ejector truck prepares to dump salt onto Heilbronn’s feed conveyor.

<p>Operator Marvin Traub runs continuous miners and occasionally drives trucks at Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG’s Heilbronn mine.</p>

Operator Marvin Traub runs continuous miners and occasionally drives trucks at Südwestdeutsche Salzwerke AG’s Heilbronn mine.

“You drive straight on, not like with the other trucks,” he says. “With them, you’re side on, similar to an underground loader. Here, we drive facing forwards. Only when reversing do you need to use the camera and mirrors. The Sandvik TH540 is a great match for Sandvik MB770.”

Heilbronn still operates three of its four Sandvik continuous miners and recently purchased a fifth. The mine’s first Sandvik MB770 is now on display in a visitors’ museum in Bad Friedrichshall. From May 2006 to March 2016, the unit mined around 8 million tonnes of rock salt, traveling more than 110,000 metres.

Heilbronn still utilizes drill and blast in some parts of the mine that aren’t directly below urban areas to compensate for seasonal peaks in salt demand. Seven-metre blastholes are drilled and each blast produces more than 1,000 tonnes of rock salt. Sandvik loaders transport the blasted rock salt to the crusher, which crushes the salt so that it can be transported by conveyor.

Heilbronn operates four Sandvik LH621s, a Sandvik LH517, a Sandvik LH514 and a Sandvik LH307.

“The most important criteria for suppliers is reliability in terms of the availability of the machines, the ergonomics and the long service life of a machine,” says Saage, who has worked at the Heilbronn mine for 10 years. “The availability of the machines is the top priority. Machinery that isn’t running is superfluous. The Sandvik equipment has proven to be very reliable at Heilbronn.”

Sandvik MB770

Sandvik MB770 is designed for a variety of continuous mining tasks in non-coal and non-gassy operations up to 5.3 metres (17.4 feet) in height. This wide-head continuous miner combines special design features for cutting, loading and face ventilation into a robust machine with superior advance rates. A slow speed revolution cutter head generates less dust and fewer vibrations. The automated, programmable cutting cycle guarantees accurate cutting while the visualization and data logging system further optimizes performance.